Spotlight Kareemah IdDeen

Spotlight Kareemah IdDeen



Kareemah IdDeen

Senior Human Resources Generalist/Recruiter
“I get to do work that I love for an organization that aligns with my values and vision.” - Kareemah

When did you start working for DRC?

I started in November 2021.

What do you do in your current role?

I am generally the first point of contact for anyone who is interested in being employed by DRC. My responsibilities include drafts and posting job announcements internally and externally. I work with the hiring managers on how to lead a hiring team—walking them through the steps of their role and my role in the hiring process. I find talent for open roles and oversee the new hire process. I also facilitate the new hire orientation and exit interviews.

What is the most recent show/movie/book you've watched or read?

I love “The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz. It’s a book that talks about how there’s four things that you should implement in your life to bring you ultimate happiness and satisfaction. It’s a book that you will read a few times to implement the ideas. The one that I always actively practice is to ‘always do your best’, and the one that I struggle with the most is ‘don’t take anything personally’.

What is something unique about DRC that you haven’t experienced at a previous job?

The thing I love about my role is I’m able to be a specialist in one area of HR, and that area is recruiting and sourcing talent. It’s an additional bonus being able to do this kind of work for an organization that aligns with my values and vision. As a person with a disability, I’ve never felt comfortable identifying my disability in a workplace so, to work at a place where that’s accepted and embraced is invigorating.

If you could tell your 13-year-old self one thing, what would it be?

Don’t compare your path to someone else’s path, you’re going to find your own way.

Fun Fact
I absolutely love traveling and thrive in new experiences. My mom was a flight attendant, so I grew up having a passport and traveling at a young age. My mom wanted to make sure I grew up having an international perspective. So, in my youth I went to places like Paris. The most traveled place I’ve visited has been Dubai.

What’s your “motto” in life and what does it mean to you?

“We want the convenience of transformation without the inconvenience that’s required.” It means that change is uncomfortable, but it’s required to be better. We all want to change, but we all don’t want the uncomfortableness that comes with it. When I look back at who I was a year ago, two years ago—I want to see progress, I want to see change. I want to know that I’m really working at being a better person.

How would your friends and family describe you?

Positive energy, extrovert, philanthropic, a person that’s always willing to fix a situation by offering advice, help, support, etc., and the biggest cheerleader for seeing a person reach their full potential. I think that’s because I’m the oldest of six.

What is an accomplishment that shaped or impacted your career?

Working for the Magic Johnson Foundation. I started there as a receptionist and worked my way up to their Director of Youth Development Services. It was the first time in my career where I knew that I wanted to help others and my job didn’t feel like work.

How do you like to spend your time when you aren’t working?

I love the water so whether it’s going to the beach or a lake—just being out by water, near water, or in water is my happy place. I also enjoy spending time with friends and family as well as reading and sometimes good ole “me time”.